Kia EV6 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

Registered
馃嚚馃嚘 EV6 | GT Line S [AWD]
Joined
113 Posts

Registered
Joined
167 Posts
Interesting. Part of me thinks it's fake (3.6kW V2L? I thought it's 1.9kW for North America because we're on 120V) but the amber reflectors and the reference to Telluride means it's, at the very least, NA spec. The use of metric units in the last screenshot means it's Canadian.

That's good. That means we could get the relaxation seats (which weren't present at the version shown at the Chicago Auto Show) and amber indicators (vs. red indicators in the US model, which uses the thin brake lights as indicators - too thin imo to be visible but I guess it has to meet the minimum requirements).

Thanks for sharing!
 

Registered
Joined
5 Posts
I'm a member of a worldwide Kia EV6 Group and a user claims this is from a Canadian Dealer and posted these images.
Hi, I'm the user that posted these images on the other site and was just notified by the KIA dealership to remove these pictures from the Facebook page, which I did. I'm not sure if you will, but I'm hoping these too can be removed until KIA Canada has given full approval.

Thank you
 

Registered
Joined
108 Posts
@Comet302 I saw those on FB and wondered, like the user that commented on the embargo, if those were public yet. Too bad you didn't get pricing! I'm facing a very very difficult decision this week that would be much easier if I knew the pricing on the Canadian GT-Line!

ETA: There are enough weird things in those pages for me to believe it's not the final version. E.g. they mention max charging speed at 240 kW but then give times for charging at 350 kW (and the smaller battery at only 180 kW). The whites are switched, and I don't think the towing capacity is 2,000 lbs anywhere. So this may have been a dealer-only preview of the car from some months ago.
 

Registered
Joined
5 Posts
@Comet302 I saw those on FB and wondered, like the user that commented on the embargo, if those were public yet. Too bad you didn't get pricing! I'm facing a very very difficult decision this week that would be much easier if I knew the pricing on the Canadian GT-Line!
Well I'm hoping these pics will be deleted. I don't want to mess up my pre order!!! There was nothing in the email from kia stating that the pdf images were not allowed to be posted or published, but I feel bad that I put them out there without asking first... I'm just too excited about this vehicle and wanted everyone to get some more information on it.
 

Registered
馃嚚馃嚘 EV6 | GT Line S [AWD]
Joined
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Hi, I'm the user that posted these images on the other site and was just notified by the KIA dealership to remove these pictures from the Facebook page, which I did. I'm not sure if you will, but I'm hoping these too can be removed until KIA Canada has given full approval.

Thank you
I鈥檓 approaching your claims with some curiosity given this it shows you joined about 18 minutes ago/recently.

I would also argue - this gives Kia Canada a great opportunity to clear the confusion and actually communicate with their loyal customers, and also their dealership network.

The r茅servation process not only left us consumers dry, but put so many of the dealers who took 鈥減reorders鈥 in a tough spot - where they also had to compete for the 200 limited run. This is just purely poor planning, execution, and communication.

I personally put down a deposit of $500 back in early May, only to discover a week before the official preorder that it had no meaning, and it wasn鈥檛 a real reservation. Frankly I was lucky to get a spot in the 200, but I personally know people who weren鈥檛 as lucky as you and I. Also the dealer I worked with - had to refund my money, and basically lost me as a customer and sale.

Our friends in the US also have had limited supply issues - but Kia America has effectively taken what is Kia鈥檚 second coming to market with poise and careful planning. (Times Square takeover a couple of months back)Meanwhile - Kia Canada had an unknown artist do a 20 minute concert with 7 minutes of them actually talking about the car.

And although I sympathize with you and also the dealer who shared this with you in good faith - it doesn鈥檛 change the fact that Kia Canada hasn鈥檛 been clear or tried to communicate effectively. Just take a look at their social media channels - it鈥檚 littered with complaints about their lack of communication, beyond the EV6.

I hypothesize folks high up in Kia Canada still believe that information asymmetry sways towards their side. This is simply not the case, because of communities like this, and also the car has been in the hands of consumers and reviewers for months now in EMEA markets.

I suspect that a good majority of folks who are active on here - will likely know more about the car than the dealer. Take a look at Tesla and BMW for example - they both already know this which is why when they do a release - they decouple info and communication with consumers and dealers, but do it at the same time. Case in point - the BMW i4 and ix4 releases in canada.

For the reasons above - and for the betterment of this great community and my fellow Canadians left in the dark - I think it鈥檚 best to keep this post.

Thank you for confirming they are real though.
 

Registered
Joined
167 Posts
@Comet302 I saw those on FB and wondered, like the user that commented on the embargo, if those were public yet. Too bad you didn't get pricing! I'm facing a very very difficult decision this week that would be much easier if I knew the pricing on the Canadian GT-Line!

ETA: There are enough weird things in those pages for me to believe it's not the final version. E.g. they mention max charging speed at 240 kW but then give times for charging at 350 kW (and the smaller battery at only 180 kW). The whites are switched, and I don't think the towing capacity is 2,000 lbs anywhere. So this may have been a dealer-only preview of the car from some months ago.
240kW sounds about right. That's what InsideEVs got.

The smaller battery doesn't need that higher power, considering it's 20kWh smaller. VW also limits max power in their smaller battery ID.3 too (100kW vs. 125kW on the 58kWh and 77kWh ID.3)
 

Registered
Joined
179 Posts
So it looks like green might be making its way over to the new world. I'm still up in the air about getting this model or the IONIQ 5 for cost reasons but the future might look brighter for me depending on work.
 

Registered
馃嚚馃嚘 EV6 | GT Line S [AWD]
Joined
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
So it looks like green might be making its way over to the new world. I'm still up in the air about getting this model or the IONIQ 5 for cost reasons but the future might look brighter for me depending on work.
looks like they just released Canadian pricing for the Ioniq 5. Under 55k for the fully loaded model according to this article:

 

Registered
Joined
179 Posts
looks like they just released Canadian pricing for the Ioniq 5. Under 55k for the fully loaded model according to this article:

$55K USD or CAD?
 

Registered
Joined
108 Posts
Well I'm hoping these pics will be deleted. I don't want to mess up my pre order!!! There was nothing in the email from kia stating that the pdf images were not allowed to be posted or published, but I feel bad that I put them out there without asking first... I'm just too excited about this vehicle and wanted everyone to get some more information on it.
I see zero chance this messed up your pre-order; might get your dealer in trouble though, IF they can trace that back to a dealer which again I doubt. :)
 

Registered
Joined
108 Posts
The r茅servation process not only left us consumers dry, but put so many of the dealers who took 鈥減reorders鈥 in a tough spot - where they also had to compete for the 200 limited run. This is just purely poor planning, execution, and communication.

I personally put down a deposit of $500 back in early May, only to discover a week before the official preorder that it had no meaning, and it wasn鈥檛 a real reservation. Frankly I was lucky to get a spot in the 200, but I personally know people who weren鈥檛 as lucky as you and I. Also the dealer I worked with - had to refund my money, and basically lost me as a customer and sale.

...

And although I sympathize with you and also the dealer who shared this with you in good faith - it doesn鈥檛 change the fact that Kia Canada hasn鈥檛 been clear or tried to communicate effectively. Just take a look at their social media channels - it鈥檚 littered with complaints about their lack of communication, beyond the EV6.
I had two gripes with the reservation process: (1) the system issues, and (2) the lack of forewarning. I signed up for updates 3 or 4 times, got ZERO response from Kia at all until getting an email from them 18 hours before pre-orders opened.

I tried to put down a deposit with a dealer, but he told me that because Kia hadn't announced any process and they had zero visibility into the car, they weren't taking money, only names. He told me other dealerships were taking deposits, but he feared that might put them in a bind - and look, he was 100% correct. So blame those dealerships for taking deposits without knowing whether they could fill them, not Kia Canada who is clearly not behind that.

For the reasons above - and for the betterment of this great community and my fellow Canadians left in the dark - I think it鈥檚 best to keep this post.
I respectfully disagree with you on this. The request to remove these materials originated from an individual who works at a dealership who could get in trouble with Kia Canada for sharing these. The respectful thing to do here is to remove the images as requested by @Comet302. Keeping them up in an attempt to hurt or shame Kia Canada will not achieve those objectives, and will instead prevent other leaks from occurring as dealers become reluctant to share details with their reservation-holders in fear they get uploaded here.

E.g. I have screenshots from emails and various screens, but I keep those in confidence because I want to keep receiving them.

So please reconsider removing those images as requested by their OP.
 

Registered
Joined
108 Posts
@OneFiasco I guess what I'm saying is that keeping them up because you're frustrated with the pre-order process doesn't hurt Kia Canada or the dealer you're frustrated with, but instead hurts this dealer and those customers who are sharing what pre-release information they can get.
 

Registered
Joined
60 Posts
@OneFiasco I guess what I'm saying is that keeping them up because you're frustrated with the pre-order process doesn't hurt Kia Canada or the dealer you're frustrated with, but instead hurts this dealer and those customers who are sharing what pre-release information they can get.
Kia Canada isn鈥檛 doing anything any different than Kia US or Kia UK
 

Registered
Joined
5 Posts
I see zero chance this messed up your pre-order; might get your dealer in trouble though, IF they can trace that back to a dealer which again I doubt. :)
Yeah it's all good. I've let them know what happened and they've let me know it's ok. There weren't any disclaimers in the pdf saying it could not be put online. I'm sure with Hyundai finally putting pricing online that KIA will be soon to follow. The images i posted had no prices, just similar info that's available on many other sites - but I think these were the first that showed side markers on the vehicle.
 
1 - 20 of 26 Posts
Top